forum.webdiplomacy.net

webDip dev coordination forum / public access todo list
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:19 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 2:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:08 pm
Posts: 187
So I've coloured in the regions to denote starting positions:


Attachments:
SmallMap - SCs.png
SmallMap - SCs.png [ 34.79 KiB | Viewed 2759 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 3:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:08 pm
Posts: 187
I envision that there will be a variety of units:

Armies: Move 1, can move into cities
Fleets: Move 1, can move into cities, can convoy
Horsemen: Move 2, can't move into cities, can't convoy
Galleons: Move 2, can't move into cities, can't convoy, can't navigate rivers


the uncoloured cities have standing neutral armies which are disbanded if dislodged.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 3:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:08 pm
Posts: 187
there are also some land-bridges (and 2 sea bridges) but I haven't placed them in yet.

and the 'countries' are:

Delhi Sultanate
Tibet
Khmer Empire
Yuan Dynasty
Ilkhanate
Golden Horde
Chagatai Khanate
Crusader States
The Great Khans
Sirijaya
The Caliphate


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 4:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:22 am
Posts: 841
kaner406 wrote:
I envision that there will be a variety of units:
Horsemen: Move 2, can't move into cities, can't convoy

The current webdip code does not allow more than 2 different unit-types...

Oliver


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 5:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:08 pm
Posts: 187
Is this set in stone? can there be a way around this?

(willing to help but a complete novice @ coding)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:47 pm
Posts: 726
You have to make some pretty drastic changes to add another unit type or two.
Also like to question *how* you'd control a unit that could move two spaces. Would the intermediate space have to be empty? could it have a fight for this first space, then walk through into the other? etc etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:22 am
Posts: 841
PS: Nice map.
If you add the names in another layer to the graphics I could setup a minimal install file. You would have to define the borders in the database, but I have a tool that helps with that...

Oliver


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 11:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:08 pm
Posts: 187
Thanks Oli - I'll get onto the names shortly. And after that a largemap as well.

Fidle - I'm pretty sure that the 2 move rule would be applicable like the Octopus variant and in Germany 1648 both from Tadar, the cities would function the same way, impassable to horsemen and Galleons, whilst enter-able from Fleets and Armies.

Failing the ability to have more than 2 unit types (three would still be good) I'd have to muck around a bit with the location of the SCs if we go back to only Armies and Fleets.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 10:22 am
Posts: 841
kaner406 wrote:
Fidle - I'm pretty sure that the 2 move rule would be applicable like the Octopus variant and in Germany 1648 both from Tadar, the cities would function the same way, impassable to horsemen and Galleons, whilst enter-able from Fleets and Armies.

The 1648 variant tricks the system, as the 2-move units are fleets and every 2-move is defined as a separate 1-move in the move-table. Also they have no link to the cities, so they can't enter them.

Oliver


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Apr 25, 2011 6:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 2:08 pm
Posts: 187
I hope this is right:
here is the base map & names (on a separate *.png)
with the whole thing collapsed into a *.png (on Gimp)


Attachments:
Smallmap1.png
Smallmap1.png [ 44.31 KiB | Viewed 2665 times ]
Names.png
Names.png [ 16.63 KiB | Viewed 2668 times ]
base map1.png
base map1.png [ 46.63 KiB | Viewed 2664 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group