forum.webdiplomacy.net

webDip dev coordination forum / public access todo list
It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:11 am

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:35 am 

I am new to webDiplomacy but I've been making diplomacy variants for a while. My best one by far is a post-treaty-of-Versailles Europe scenario, uncreatively named "1933 Diplomacy." I would like to program it for this, but it includes some changes to the rules: most importantly, in addition to the five major powers there are six minor powers which players bid on each year with "Influence Points" gained from every supply center (the idea is stolen from James Nelson's Napoleonic Diplomacy, though the rules are slightly different).
I was wondering: is it possible to program such rules into this? And if so how would I go about doing it?

The rules are:

The standard rules of Diplomacy apply, except as noted below:

1) Major Powers
The playable countries (hereafter the "Major Powers") are as follows:

England (Fleet London, Army Liverpool, Army Edinburgh, Fleet Cairo)
France (Army Paris, Army Marseilles, Fleet Brest, Fleet Algiers)
Italy (Army Venice, Army Rome, Fleet Naples, Fleet Tripoli)
Russia (Fleet Leningrad, Army Sevastopol, Army Moscow, Fleet Stalingrad)
Germany (Fleet Hamburg, Army Hanover, Army Berlin, Army Munich)

2) Minor Powers
In addition to the playable powers, there are also a number of Minor Powers, which the players control. These are marked by white territories with colorful borders. They are:

Finland (Army Helinski)
Poland (Army Krakow, Army Warsaw)
Hungary (Army Hungary)
Rumania (Army Bucharest)
Spain (Army Madrid, Fleet Seville)
Turkey (Fleet Constantinople, Army Smyrna)

These are controlled by the Major Powers through Influence Points (IPs).

Players bid IPs each year in the Minor Diplomacy Phase, at the beginning of every Spring Turn (The game starts in Spring 1933). The player with the most IPs invested in a Minor Power gains control of it.